PA in Neonatology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medsomething

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that NNPs are the dominant mid level practitioners in neonatology but is it still possible to work as a PA in the discipline? As a nursing student, I had the oppotunity to shadow in the NICU and really liked it. I have since decided to pursue PA school over nursing but still would like to work in the neonatal unit. I could pursue nursing again if it's the only way to get in there but I would prefer the PA route. Thanks in advance for your insight! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I also had the same question. I have met several PA's in the NICU, but there are definately more NP's. I would love to hear some feedback from others too!

hey guys,

i am interested in this as well. I wonder what the reply would be if a pa were to apply to a job posting for an ARNP in neonatal. Why do u guys think the field is dominated by NP's? Thanks for any insight.

brandon

Members don't see this ad :)
"Why do u guys think the field is dominated by NP's?"

I think nursing has generally dominated any medical specialty related to women's health/maternity and children

e.g., midwives, NNP, pediatric NP, women's health CNS

I think these particular specialties relating to women and children seem to mesh perfectly with their nursing philosphy and maybe thats why they've thrived in the specialties. Maybe these specialtie require more nurturing and emotional support which goes along with the nursing philosophy?