PA to MD and prerequisites

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ceb2022

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been working as a PA for two years and want to pursue an MD degree. My cumulative GPA for undergrad and my master's program is 3.96, and I feel like completing a PA program with a high GPA helps demonstrate that I likely can perform well in an MD program. However I did not complete one full year of undergrad biology lab (missing one section of lab) and did not take a full year of organic chemistry (I took one semester of inorganic chemistry with lab and one section of organic chemistry with lab). Some programs require these courses, but some "recommend" them. Assuming I perform in the >/=90th percentile for the MCAT/am otherwise a competitive candidate, will I still be considered for matriculation with my prerequisite background? I am curious what other PAs have done.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
It sounds like you meet the prerequisites for some schools but not others. I'm in a similar boat as you where I did part of the biology requirement, then did other upper division Biology classes so I meet some schools' biology requirements but not others. I'm planning to call around to see what different schools actually mean when they say "1 year biology with lab" and don't specify whether that only applies to lower division biology or also counts upper division classes.

Members don't see this ad :)
Prepare to jump through any and all hoops while applying to med school. The one exception I know of is LECOM (which is why I applied there as a former PA).

Also be aware that most programs (especially MD) are not impressed by PA training and will not relax their admission requirements. Believe me, I tried and got nowhere with that strategy. I had 7+ years in practice and 3.9+ GPA yet they wouldn’t even budge on their shadowing requirements.