Paramedic A-fib CHF SOB question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medicmikee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been a paramedic in a busy system for about 12 years but I am always still learning and wanted some advice on a call I had the other day.

80 year old male with a history of CHF and A-fib calls for increasing mild shortness of breath x1day. No other associated symptoms Pt is found seated at home. Presents conscious alert and oriented x4 GCS15, normal skin signs, mildly increased breathing rate but no significant work of breathing. Rales are appreciated in the very lowest bases from the back fields but not in lateral or anterior fields. Tidal volume is good and there is no wheezing. Room air sat is 90%. No significant pedal/sacral edema is found and there is no JVD. Pt is mildly hypotensive at 92/56 HR 69 and pt is in A-fib without ventricular ectopy.