Paramedic to MD/DO - are there schools which waive prereqs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Paramedic1992

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm new to this but would love some help.

I'm currently in a paramedic program through UCLA which when completed will give 36 credits of undergrad science classes.
Assuming I complete the program, get the credits and get the NREMT-P cert, I've heard rumors of a few medical schools which will accept paramedic coursework as the needed prerequisite classes in lieu of undergrad coursework or post-bacc programs but I don't know if any of this is true. Can anyone comment on this or point me towards a couple schools which do actually do this to? That would be great!

I'm 24 now - my undergrad was a BS in hotel and restaurant management, basically a business degree, with a graduating GPA of 3.02 (definitely partied more than I studied, but hey I never thought I'd be looking at med school till now). Don't know if it's relevant but I also have a Fire Science Certification through community college, about 32 semester units at 3.8 GPA that I got after undergrad.

The more career options I've been looking into the more impressed with I am about not only the impact you can make in the field of medicine but also the work life balance, specifically speaking about emergency medicine after residency at least.

Thank you in advance for the guidance!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Does your paramedic coursework include Gen Bio I and II, Gen Chem I and II, Physics I and II, Organic Chem I and II, and sociology/psychology? If not, then you won't be prepared for the MCAT, regardless of any kind of waiver.