Paramedic to...? PA / NP/ MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Quillthoughts

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to preface this with I spent an hour reading the forum and found several questions like mine but none that were close enough to give me the answers I require. So, like many other posts, I'm a paramedic at a crossroads. I've been a paramedic for five years, EMT for seven, I'm 30 years old and I'm bored. I love medicine and the limitations of EMS are boring me. I would like to go further but I don't know where to go and the fact that I'm posting in "Student Doctor Network" may be me dropping hints to myself.

I was going to the Paramedic to RN bridge with the intention of eventually becoming an NP. The series of bridges required had two very important factors that made me chose it, initially, over pursuing PA: financial and emotional security. I can work through all the bridges that go from a paramedic with a vocational certificate to a DNP. I don't have to depend on my husband (also a paramedic), who would actually be willing to do the extra work, for financial security. Emotional security was the big winner. It was pointed out to me that if I do all the coursework leading to PA / NP and don't get into the required schools, I either have a Bachelor's in Nursing and a guaranteed job or a Bachelor's in Biology. I've met a lot of people that have a BS... they're all paramedics.