Pass/fail grades during undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Laura Jean

Reaction score
I am a very good student — I have gotten all As with 2 A- in my undergrad years — giving me a GPA of 3.98. I am struggling in general microbiology with a professor that is on the autism spectrum. He communicates poorly and his exam questions are not only all coming from out of left field, but they are impossible to study for — I've tried. Right now I am really not sure if I will even be able to get a B. I am thinking about switching the grading from A-F to S/N (my university's pass/fail system). Will changing the grading hurt my chances of getting into a competitive medical school? I just simply cannot manage to do well. I know the material — I know microbiology, but it's all the professor. The average in the class if like 65% and he refuses to curve anything and will not be curving the class at the end of the semester. It's frustrating and I don't think a B-/B reflects my knowledge one bit.

It’s not a medical school pre-req and it’s not required for my major. It will also be my only pass/fail course — other than my seminar classes which are only offered P/F.

How much harm will a P/F class do to my medical school chances at T20 schools in particular?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
step 1, take a breath, one B will not hurt. no adcoms will look at your transcript, spot the B, and say "this person is toast. go next." take the grade.