Passed ... Best Step 3 Resources

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YALEMED

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Been a silent member for a while and just got my score for Step 3 (97/236) so here is my experience and feedback:

BEST STEP 3 RESOURCES:
1. PRACTICE SAMPLE QUESTIONS AND CCS SOFTWARE ON USMLE CD
2. PICK 1 REVIEW BOOK
FIRST AID > CRUSH BECAUSE FIRST AID HAS CCS SECTION IN BACK
3. PICK A SOURCE FOR PRACTICE QUESTIONS AND CCS
USMLEWORLD FOR MCQS
USMLESTEPS123 FOR CCS.

I studied about a month for the exam, this exam is more a nuisance than anything else. The MCQs are not very straightforward. Some questions I didn't even know where to look up the answers to and some were dumb like which test is most appropriate when in reality you would order all the tests. The ethics questions were dumb and common sense items. I looked through the question banks in Usmleworld and Kaplan, both are overhyped and not completely reflective of the exam, but its better than nothing. The CCS were a lot easier especially when you already have seen all the cases. The CCS section in back of first aid has just about evey case you can expect to see on the exam. I used usmlesteps123 which gave some useful tips and strategies, but the way their cases are organized is a little weird. Overall, being in medicine residency helped out a lot for the exam and taking it close to Step 2 is helpful. This exam was a pain in the arse, but glad it's over.

Members don't see this ad.

Been a silent member for a while and just got my score for Step 3 (97/236) so here is my experience and feedback:

BEST STEP 3 RESOURCES:
1. PRACTICE SAMPLE QUESTIONS AND CCS SOFTWARE ON USMLE CD
2. PICK 1 REVIEW BOOK
FIRST AID > CRUSH BECAUSE FIRST AID HAS CCS SECTION IN BACK
3. PICK A SOURCE FOR PRACTICE QUESTIONS AND CCS
USMLEWORLD FOR MCQS
USMLESTEPS123 FOR CCS.