Pasting from Microsoft Word to AMCAS!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by doctaroo, May 31, 2008.

  1. doctaroo

    doctaroo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    3
    Status:
    Medical Student
    Hey everyone,

    AMCAS warns of possible formatting issues when copying and pasting, so they recommend typing in the AMCAS slot directly.

    Now, I like to write everything in Word, and prefer to paste. I really don't want to bother typing everything into AMCAS again, so I'm just wondering if anyone out there is like me and has just pasted in the past. Any problems encountered?

    Thanks, Dr.oo :D
     
  2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. taponthecloud

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Medical Student
    the road from ms word to amcas goes through Notepad.
     
  4. chad5871

    Physician Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,276
    Likes Received:
    10
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    You can always preview your application by clicking on "Print Application" to see what it will look like.
     
  5. Mobius1985

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Fellow [Any Field]
    Be very careful if you use Word. Formatting disasters have been reported on this forum in the past by those who did not heed AMCAS advice.
     
  6. pianola

    pianola MS2

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,072
    Likes Received:
    14
    Status:
    Medical Student
    That's what I was thinking...but how do I know if the pdf I print out is exactly the same as the pdf the ADCOM sees?

    Thanks,
    p
     
  7. LifetimeDoc

    LifetimeDoc EM Attending
    Physician

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,846
    Likes Received:
    57
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Exactly! But to be more precise, with step-by-step instructions...

    1. Select the text you want in Word, then copy it to the clipboard
    2. Open NotePad (Start/Programs/Accessories)
    3. Paste the text inside of NotePad
    4. Make any formatting changes in NotePad (you might not have to, but just check everything out and make changes)
    5. Select Everything inside of NotePad and copy to the clipboard.
    6. Goto your web browser with AMCAS and paste the text there.

    Done!
     
  8. Myuu

    Myuu 例えば、貴方の名前を忘れてしまうとか。 。。
    Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    29
    Word uses some special characters for things like em-dashes and quotation marks that don't always translate well to plain text formats. Plus it's had a fairly poor history of character counting. Like everyone else is saying, throw it through a plain-text editor like notepad or TextEdit (if on a Mac) to make sure Word hasn't done something odd.
     
    mpa likes this.
  9. Green Grass

    Physician

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    247
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    If you print it out and it looks fine, you should be okay right?
     
  10. BluePhoenix

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just make sure you're printing it from your AMCAS and not just printing from the Word document. If it looks fine when you print out your AMCAS...then it should be good.
     
  11. philios

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    with the outrageous fees we pay to AMCAS you'd think they could fix some simple formatting issues that they have been aware of for quite some time
     
  12. hypnix

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Medical Student
    I just pasted by PS into the box and hit continue and it shows a preview of my PS. It looks fine to me. Is this not the way to check it?
     
  13. Character

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,467
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Other Health Professions Student
    you could encounter many problems doing this. remember, anything that can go wrong, will go wrong....i f you believe in this...anything wrong can happen. and it will happen. i promise you this.
     
  14. AlexMorph

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5,527
    Likes Received:
    18
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    the great character has immense foresight. i would heed his advice. that said, as taponthecloud said, use an intermediate program to take care of formatting issues. no problem typing it up in word, but paste it to notepad/wordpad in between to take care of any formatting issues.
     
  15. hypnix

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Medical Student
    I pasted into notepad and everything seemed fine. What kind of problems are other people having?
     
  16. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

  17. LikeClockWork

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,676
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    It can do some funny things with some characters. It wasn't the AMCAS, but one of my secondaries took every apostrophe and turned it into a question mark (I was in Mr. Smith?s class). I'm sure stuff like that can happen on the AMCAS too.
     
  18. hypnix

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Medical Student
    Haha
    Yea, I can see that happening. I was thinking spacing errors and all that jazz would happen.

    Okay, thanks for the heads up!

    How do you guys feel about single space and double space after a sentence? I know it's not that HUGE, but I'm at like 5250 characters and want to end a little bit.
     
  19. LikeClockWork

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,676
    Likes Received:
    2
    Status:
    Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    While the common convention used to be double spacing after sentences (carried over from the typewriter days), now it's acceptable to only single space. Even though my PS was only ~5150 characters last year, I still kept it single spaced. Didn't see a need to change it.
     

Share This Page