Patients constantly think I'm a nurse!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PteFabulous

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
The worst thing about being a clerk is that my patients never have any idea who I am! I always introduce myself as "Full Name, I'm a medical student working under Dr. whoever", but for some reason I don't think they see past the fact I'm female.

Half the time they think I'm the doctors assistant, the other half they think I'm a nurse. Its ridiculous! A lot of the time when the attending is with me he will actually correct people and say "oh actually she's a doctor", which is nice but I'm not going to introduce myself as Dr. lastname since technically I'm not a doctor yet.

I know this isn't THAT big a deal, but every now and then it really frustrates me. I can't wait until I'm a resident and can introduce myself as DR. lastname.

Anyone have similar experiences?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Even when you CAN introduce yourself as "Dr.", some will STILL think you're a nurse. It's pretty common at all levels, although it happens to me less as an attending. Just be polite when you correct them.

Reactions: 6 users
Members don't see this ad :)
The worst thing about being a clerk is that my patients never have any idea who I am! I always introduce myself as "Full Name, I'm a medical student working under Dr. whoever", but for some reason I don't think they see past the fact I'm female.

Half the time they think I'm the doctors assistant, the other half they think I'm a nurse. Its ridiculous! A lot of the time when the attending is with me he will actually correct people and say "oh actually she's a doctor", which is nice but I'm not going to introduce myself as Dr. lastname since technically I'm not a doctor yet.