Pediatric CT Surgery Pipeline Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

plukfelder2017

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

Thank you for your contribution to this forum. I wouldn't have gotten into medical school and through boards/rotations without your assistance.

I am a 3rd year medical student applying to residency programs in this upcoming application cycle. I was initially intending on applying to integrated vascular surgery programs. After spending time on the pediatric cardiac surgery service, I feel a heightened sense of purpose and feel mentally prepared to commit to the trials and tribulations of this career field. I do see myself fitting into the culture of this service and have always considered pursuing it but did not feel prepared to follow suit until recently. Job prospects, training length, and outcome scrutiny were the rate limiting steps previously. Of note, I have also absolutely loved my time on the vascular and adult cardiac surgery services as well. Less so with core gen surg/thoracic, I just don't want to look back on my life with regrets.

My Stats:
US MD, step 1: Around 250, CK 4 months away
3rd year rotations: Honors surgery, medicine, peds etc
Publications>10 All Vascular
Letters (all vascular)

Questions:
1. Is Integrated vascular surgery>cardiac surgery fellowship>pediatric CT super fellowship a viable training pathway? Would I be able to obtain a board certification in congenital through this pathway? Would it be recognized/ACGME approved? I have tried looking at the AATS website but am unable to find info on this. I do understand that there are multiple individuals who have transitioned from integrated vascular surgery programs to cardiac surgery fellowships (ie. from the houston/cleveland/dc programs) but am unsure if anyone has pursued additional training beyond a cardiac fellowship.