Per diem disability evals - rate?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neuropsych54321

Reaction score
Recently contacted by a company that does per diem/moonlighting disability psych evals (not neuropsych). Rate per eval is $85-95, which covers 45 minute appt and templated report. Minimal pay for no shows. Role is set up for flexibility (for example, can work 1-2 days/month or more and can set how many evals each day). It is W4 and includes limited admin support, office space, software, malpractice coverage; no other benefits. The rate seems low, but want other opinions about the rate and setup.

Members don't see this ad.

The Medicare rate for just evaluating someone, in clinical settings, without a write up, is higher than this. Why would you agree to a medicolegal evaluation that has a higher risk to your license, than straight clinical work?

Reactions: 7 users
I'm just a regular VA therapist who has never done PP/contract work and even I'm offended by that rate!

Hell, there's probably some ESA company with better flexibility that will pay a higher hourly rate to literally rubber stamp a bunch of templated apartment letters than this gig.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the responses. I thought the pay seemed low, but now it is clear that it is disgustingly low!

Embarrassed to admit that I did not know you could look up medicare reimbursement rates before this conversation. I do not want to get scammed or taken advantage of, and it is scary how close I was to even considering this for a second. It feels like "wow, $90/hour sounds like good money" is an easy trap to fall into coming from postdoc pay (which these companies are clearly preying on).

Wish there was more focus on business matters throughout school and training years. Any recommendations for how to become better informed about the money side of things?

Reactions: 2 users