Perineal support during delivery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sddoc

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an FP intern who is currently on OB service. Some of the attendings that I have worked with are telling me that I need to provide perineal support while delivering the posterior shoulder. Short of growing an extra hand to do this, I simply can't see a good way to do it without risking dropping the kiddo. Does anyone have any good suggestions?

Members don't see this ad.

Use one hand to deliver, one hand on the perineum. Do this for the posterior shoulder, than move both hands up for the rest of the delivery. After you get the posterior shoulder out, there is still a lot of kid to deliver, thus mom's posterior vaginal wall is still supporting much of the kid, so you should not be at risk to drop the baby.

I actually support until the baby bottom is out too, then let go of perineum and grab legs with the lower hand as they deliver. Just have a good grip with your upper hand, move deliberately, and no problemo.

While I support the perineum too, it is odd that there's not much lit supporting hands-on perineal support.