Quantcast

Peripheral Retinal Exam

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

linevasel

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Following Dr. Zeke's lead here....

One of the most frustrating parts of residency is figuring out what you can learn on your own and what is best taught in the "class" setting under supervision. I'm curious what has been the pathway at your respective residency programs to mastering the peripheral retina exam. Did you guys just start subjecting your PVD patients to scleral depression and kind of learned by the seat-of-your-pants. Was there some sort of formal process. I'm halfway thru year one and can't depress = Worried!

OPPforlife

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't think you can reliably depress until fellowship. But then again I'm just a first year resident

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DrZeke

yzarc gniog ylwolS
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Following Dr. Zeke's lead here....

One of the most frustrating parts of residency is figuring out what you can learn on your own and what is best taught in the "class" setting under supervision. I'm curious what has been the pathway at your respective residency programs to mastering the peripheral retina exam. Did you guys just start subjecting your PVD patients to scleral depression and kind of learned by the seat-of-your-pants. Was there some sort of formal process. I'm halfway thru year one and can't depress = Worried!