Personal Appearance...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ElCid

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So we are the future dental professionals ...but how does that affect our lives as dental students? I have several friends in medical school who have somewhat 'radical' personal appearances ranging from dreadlocks and dyed hair to tattoos and piercings. They dont seem to have any problems.

But how are things in dental school? We hit clinics before med students do. I have a mohawk (not punk mohawk, more like trendy mohawk) that Ive grown quite fond of and I have some pretty big tattoos on my arms that definitely show when wearing scrubs.

How will this be received in dental school. Dont mistake me - Im a professional individual when it comes to getting down to business. But Ive got some personality traits that Im not ready to get rid of until I start practicing (be that in clinicals or when I go in the Army).

Anybody have any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

I dont know. No offense to my tatooed and mohawked friends out there, but if I were a patient, I'd want someone who didnt look so bizarre.

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by Dentaldream
I dont know. No offense to my tatooed and mohawked friends out there, but if I were a patient, I'd want someone who didnt look so bizarre.

I agree. I am sure you are going to be a great dentsit, but i don't think patients will think the same when they see a mohawk and tatoos. This is the world we live in, personal appearances mean a lot to your average american.

to ElCid:

I'm sure the tattoos are easily managed-- Just wear a long-sleeve doctor's white coat when you are seeing a patient if a patient is uncomfortable with your appearance.

As far as the mohawk goes, one way or another that'll have to go, because you have to follow the Army's grooming regulations. :D