Ph.D. first time M.D. applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hypadude

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am applying to medical schools for the first time (list below). I didn't decide until after I graduated from undergrad and had some work experience that I wanted to be a physician. I will graduate with a Ph.D. in neuroscience in June. My stats are:

MCAT 33N
undergraduate GPA: 3.15 (physics major - University of Alabama in Huntsville, 2006)
undergraduate science GPA: 3.2
graduate GPA, all science: 3.67 (neuroscience - University of Tennessee Health Science Center)
TN resident

-first author, two papers published, one submitted
-significant research and teaching as a graduate student and undergrad, usually at least 60 hours a week, including neuroanatomy to medical students, physics labs, physics tutoring, anatomy tutoring, electrophysiology experiments, mouse surgeries.
-some shadowing (~20 hours), this has been difficult in Memphis due to HIPAA and rules at local hospitals. I've asked more than a dozen physicians (including those who teach at the teaching hospital!) and all but two have said it is not allowed.
-~40 hours of clinical volunteering, patient surveyor at Huntsville Hospital
-~40 hours non clinical volunteering at an animal shelter