Pharmacy School Accreditation.. would you go to a non accredited school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ACPstu2011

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 1st year professional student at Albany College of Pharmacy and absolutely love it here..

I have a question for those of you looking at pharmacy schools... Would you choose a school that is accepting students and not even accredited yet over a school that has been in operation for 127 years? I have been having this discussion with some peers and have heard some, what appear to me as, outrageous points. I was wondering what your input would be. Specifically speaking St. John Fisher has just opened a Pharmacy school through the help of Wegmans in western NYS. They are not accredited and won't be for some time but they are accpeting students. Why are students applying there when there is no guarantee what their education could do for them... If you can't get licensed what is the point in going through 6 years or 4 years of education?

Members don't see this ad.

For me, it was important to apply to a school that was well established. However, I think that it is a nice concept to be a part of an inaugural class of a pharmacy school.

If a school is not accredited yet, but has a decent reputation with other programs, especially health programs, I really don't see the harm.

For some people, it could also be out of desperation. They want to get in somewhere, and sometimes a new school is one of the best chances they have.

Why are students applying there when there is no guarantee what their education could do for them... If you can't get licensed what is the point in going through 6 years or 4 years of education?