Pharmacy school application: what should my next step be?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fhwulala

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I hope all your application is going well.
I am a non-traditional student with a BS degree in Biotechnology applying for the 2015 term.

My undergrad GPA is 2.84. My PCAT scores are 75% (Jan 2014) and 95% (July 2014)
I have also passed the PTCB this year, but I currently have no experience working in a pharmacy.
My target schools are Virginia Commonwealth, St.Joseph and Western New England.

I have been working in the pharmaceutical industry as a chemist for the past six years since my graduation.
For the first five I was working in a medium sized generic pharmaceutical company. During which I have been a group manager for one year. I have experience working in different departments such as R&D, QC and Compliance. I am sure I can get pretty nice LORs from the CEO and CSO.

At the beginning of this year I joined one of the top 10 big pharma as a contracted senior chemist. My contract expires next February. I was hoping that I can get a LOR from the management but apparently there is an HR policy prohibiting it. So it is unlikely that I would be able to get any reference from the current job.
Since I have been out of the school for so long, I might not have a LOR from my previous professors, but I am giving it a try.

This brings me to my question,
Currently I have two plans:

1) Stay at the current job, take two classes at the local community college (my cGPA will be ~2.98), volunteer at the local hospital.

2) Quit my current job, be a full time student at the community college to bring my cGPA to 3.0+ and get some LOR. At the same time I will work part time as a pharmacy technician.

Which one do you guys think would be the most benevolent to my pharmacy application?