Pharmacy Techs and Clerks

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OralT

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi,
i'm just having this huge confusion on pharmacy technicians and clerks. So how do i become one? and how do i get those licenses and certificates? do i need to take some sort of a test? im really new to pre-pharm and i would appreciate it if someone would help me out on this.

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

hi,
i'm just having this huge confusion on pharmacy technicians and clerks. So how do i become one? and how do i get those licenses and certificates? do i need to take some sort of a test? im really new to pre-pharm and i would appreciate it if someone would help me out on this.

thanks

Hey there.

A pharmacy CLERK is usually untrained, and uncertified, and is usually a term used to refer to someone who just happens to work the cash register/counter inside a pharmacy, inside a store. (Rarely see these anywhere but retail).

A pharmacy technician, or CphT as you'll see it abbreviated, has a certification that he or she has passed the PTCE, or the Pharmacy Technician CErt. Exam, which is given by the PTCB, the Pharm. Tech. Cert. Board. (Ptcb.org)

Some states require the CphT to have taken a course in addition to just taking the exam (You can take the exam and "pass" it via self-study, I did it that way - They have practice exams). I recommend Mosby's PTCE review for a comprehensive look at life in a pharmacy.

So, to re-cap.

To become a pharmacy tech, you must at least
a. Take the PTCE and score satisfactorily
b. In some states, take a 12-16 week CphT program (offered at professional "vocation" schools most of the time).
c. Get a job as a Pharm. Tech! =D

I hope I didn't forget anything, welcome to SDN pre-pharm, and good luck!