PharmD considering a career change to PA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

transcend11

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I graduated with my PharmD in 2012 and have been working in pharmacy for over 10 years now. I am becoming more disappointed in the reality of retail pharmacy and the lack of direct patient care, so I am considering pursuing a career change to a physician's assistant.

Anyone have experience with making this transition from a prior degree from the recent past after some years?

I'm also not sure about the age of my degree, if I'll have to retake any classes. My pharmacy school didn't require a GRE, and it looks like most PA schools require that as well. My Pre-Pharmacy GPA was around 3.7, and my PharmD GPA was around 2.9. With my pharmacist experience, do you think I would have a chance at admission?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user