PharmD -> Medical School (Ask me anything)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmd2md819

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I graduated from pharmacy school but made the decision to transition to medical school after completing my clinical rotations. After pharmacy school, I was fortunate enough to match into a PGY-1 residency position for my gap year. I'm currently an M1. Many people (including admission committee members) would think that transitioning from pharmacy to medical school would be easy and seemingly painless, given the vast overlap in clinical knowledge base that the career paths have. However, I found this to be purely assumptive and not true at all. I am more than happy to help/provide advice/share my perspective on what the process was like when transitioning and what my concerns/major challenges were.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi there,

Thanks for doing this. I'm also a pharmacist looking to go back to medical school. I've been out of school four years now, and am currently taking a few courses to finish some prereqs, as well as demonstrate more recent academic success because the bulk of my undergraduate coursework will be 7+ years old in 2022 when I plan to apply. I have several questions about the process and how your prior PharmD course work and experiences were considered by adcoms. Some of these answers likely vary school to school, but I would like to know your experience.

- Do you believe your PharmD had any effect on how adcoms viewed your application?

- How did adcoms view your pharmacy school coursework? Was it included in gpa calculations or separated out?