PhD in Clinical Neuropsychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psu2008

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking for a PhD program in Clinical Neuropsychology. I'm particularly interested in the application of neuroimaging in the research of Multiple Sclerosis. I graduated from PSU and will be working this year at a Hospital administering neuropsych tests to out-patients and in-patients (mostly epilepsy pre and post op assessments). I want to apply to a fair number of programs, as finding a spot at an APA accredited school that offers a stipend is tough.
Also, do I have a realistic shot at getting into such a program like UCSD, Florida, or Arizona? I took the GRE general (1350) and Psych subject (680), and graduated with some research experience and an undergrad thesis (on an automated lesion detection system in MS), and a good GPA (3.94), but realize I'm up against people with masters degrees, more field experience, etc etc etc...Any thoughts / suggestions on schools or even specific faculty?
I'm guessing there are others out there who are trying to feel their way through this application process this summer....
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am applying to PsyDs, but I just wanted to let you know that I think your stats and your experience will be highly appreciated by PhD programs. Good luck!

Your stats are good. I don't know who is doing MS stuff really. I know there is a someone at the University of Houston, and one at the University of Kansas. But Kansas doesn't have a formal neuro concentration. But you have a good shot at good programs and it doesn't get much better than Florida for neuro people-great program. Alot of MS stuff is going on in the post doc neuro program at the Medical College of Wisconsin too, but that pretty far down the road.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)