PhD Programs that support qualitative research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qualpsych

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have an MA in psychology and am planning to apply to PhD programs in clinical psych. My research thesis was a qualitative, exploratory study on depression. I have no experience in quantitative research, aside from my required course in stats (I got an A if that counts for anything). I have been struggling to find doctoral programs with faculty that support qualitative research. I am not opposed to doing quantitative - but I really do enjoy qualitative, have an aptitude for it, and would like to continue doing it. Also, since it is the only research experience I have, I'm under the assumption that faculty who do quantitative work would not think my background makes me a good fit for them. Is this true? Does type of research or topic of research matter more - i.e. is it more important the faculty I find are researching depression, or more important they are conducting qualitative research?

I also come from a psychodynamically oriented program - hard to find doctoral programs with this emphasis. I understand it's more common in PsyD programs, but I really want to produce research (and not be in debt). Is it wise not to keep psychoanalysis in mind as my theoretical interest if I want to get a PhD?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would really recommend getting experience in quantitative as well. Qualitative research is great, but it only goes so far. Getting a solid quant background in addition to the qual stuff will make you much more rounded and much more attractive on the job market. More and more you need empirical data driven approaches to secure grant funding and such.

I believe that many faculty members at CUNY are psychodynamically oriented

Members don't see this ad :)