Physics 2 question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

patelnb

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've taken Physics 1 and I got an A- in it though. It was my hardest science class. I thought it was harder than orgo. I feel that the way I studied wasn't an efficient way of studying. I'd review concepts more than practice problems, while my roommate practiced problems more than reviewed the concepts in the book and he actually got an A. Towards the end of the course, we got into sound waves and quantum mechanics and while I didn't really grasp the concepts like with the depth that I grasp chemistry concepts, I could look at the equations that were given and scrap my way to the right answer. My question is: is this how Physics 2 will be? Are you guys similar to me? Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

People say physics 2 is harder than 1, but I thought it was about the same. Physics 2 deals with electrons, charges, electromagnetism, and mostly theoretical stuff (not, like throwing a ball and measuring stuff about it, but dealing with abstract things you'll never really see).

It's not that different, so don't worry about it much.

Do practice problems. Understanding the concept is fine, but physics problems have a way of throwing in twists that you won't be prepared for if you just study the basic concepts.

I personally found the second semester of physics much easier than the first semester; it may be the same for you. It tends to be a lot more conceptual and abstract than the first semester, so you'll be better off just understanding the concepts here than just pure memorization of equations.

Members don't see this ad :)