1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Physics Equations

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by BUmiken12, Jan 3, 2002.

1. BUmiken12

BUmiken12 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Ok, to most of you, this is going to sound like a stupid question, but here goes anyways: Do I need to memorize every physics equation for the MCAT? I'm studying the Kaplan Comprehensive book right now, and I was just wondering if I needed to learn all these formulas. Thanks a bunch.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. gobears

gobears Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

There are some equations you'll definitely have to know, but there are others that will rarely come up. It's more important to be able to understand why you're using the equations and when to use them, rather than to just memorize them. Good luck!

4. brandonite

Moderator Emeritus 7+ Year Member

You should know the easy and obvious ones. They tend to give you a lot of the more complex ones in the passage based questions.

Do a couple of the AAMC tests to get a feel for the level of detail you need to know...

5. YBee

YBee Member
    7+ Year Member

I memorized tons of equations but found, at least on the August 2001 mcat: NO equations needed!!

(slight exaggeration - the two needed were P=IR and c=vL, equations you probably already know w/o studying)

Apparently AMCAS is moving away from the math intensive Physics section.

Of course, I don't want to be held responsible if they decide to go back to the old way of doing things, a la the practice exams. :) You should prob. memorize most of them just to be safe.

6. DarksideAllstar

DarksideAllstar you can pay me in bud
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]