1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Placing out of first year classes

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by Poet, Jan 8, 2000.

1. Poet

Poet Member
    10+ Year Member

Hi,

I just read the post on "what to do before matriculate" and I saw that some people were saying its possible to place out of some classes.

I was a biochemistry major in undergrad (philo minor go figure!) and I was wondering if I can at least take the test to get out of biochem?
    I've taken the following courses to obtain my degree:
    1.chemical thermodynamics
    2.physical biochemistry
    3.protein biochemistry and cell metabolism
    4.nucleic acids and molecular biology
    (I also did a massive amount of independent research in biochemistry)

I wrote a 150 page thesis and published my research which was all protein biochemistry. (biosynthesis and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy of 13C labeled hemes in sperm whale myoglobin)

I don't know if this is enough to test out of medical school biochem but BOY WOULD I LOVE IT IF IT WAS~!! A woman that graduated from my undergrad institute just wrote my premed advisor (shes in Vet school now) and said that biochem there was a joke after taking her (my premed advisors) biochem classes. (You would NOT BELIEVE HOW DIFFICULT MY UNDERGRAD BIOCHEM CLASSES WERE!!)

Any advice would be appreciated and if anyone knows.. how would I go about asking to place out of it if its possible?

thank you [​IMG]
    poet

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Deb

Deb Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

The only way to find out about placing out of classes is to call your school
    and ask (contact the chair of biochem) however, I wouldn't get my hopes up.
    There were a number of people in my class with MASTERS' degrees in various
    sciences (I know of at least one with a MS in biochem) and at least two for