Plan of action: Need some input

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sarahl86

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here's my deal:

My stats are 31R (10PS 12VR 9BS), OA GPA of 3.85, Sci GPA of 3.73 - reapplicant, and the 31 is my second MCAT score. I have two interviews coming up in a couple of weeks, but Maryland seems to be putting everyone with my stats on post-interview hold (aka, waitlist) and I have no idea about my chances at NYMC.

I have no research experience and am trying really hard to find an entry-level position but have had no luck so far, because my lack of research experience is something I feel is holding me back. I have a ton of clinical experience.

Basically, I just don't have a lot of hope for this year. I took the August MCAT which delayed my applications until September, and wasn't complete at NYMC until October because I added it later on...but don't know what step to take if I don't get in this year.

Next time applying will be my third and final attempt, and I plan on including DO schools but as for the immediate future, I am unsure if I should continue my current job in social work or find a job in research because I don't have any experience in it. I am also looking into graduate programs but considering my GPA is not the problem I wonder how much this would help me out -- I'm looking into the one year MHS program at Hopkins and can't really decide if it is worth the expense. I've also pretty much convinced myself that I need to take the MCAT a third time, but can't really get some good advice on it.

Help, please?

Members don't see this ad.

Have you tried asking schools for feedback about what you could improve? Your problem could possibly be in some more subjective aspect, such as your essays or your LORs. Knowing is half the battle! (Okay, okay, I'm sorry for using such a cliche quote :oops:)