Please Advise

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sheila023

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new to the forum and to pre-med in general. Today I have been feeling a bit discouraged and I stumbled upon this site. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Here's my story:

I have a B.S. in Sociology with a 3.79 GPA. I had a 4.0 my last 3 years at school.

No science background.

Currently serving a 4 yr term as an Air Force officer; working full-time. This leaves little time for class.

Stuck in a city that has little to offer in the way of post-bacc. programs.

Enrolled in a local community college that has pre-med advising and classes at night and on-line.

I believe that I will do well in my biology/chem/physics courses because I'm a good student. However, I wish I could take these courses at at 4-yr university. Some of the schools I am interested in applying to will not accept pre-reqs from a community college. Can anyone relate? Is this really a problem?

I plan to apply to med school once I've completed my pre-reqs and just prior to my separation from the Air Force.

I am currently a hospice volunteer.

Like I said, any advice would be helpful. Maybe there is more that I can do that I haven't thought of.

Sincerely,

Sheila

Members don't see this ad.

I too ran into the community college problem because I graduated in engineering with some very poor pre-med counseling advice about required courses. Some schools will count the community college course if it can transfer to a 4 year school. Also, some 4 year schools offer online coursework (UCLA, UCSD, UC Berkley).

I hate to break it too you, but your GPA is OUTSTANDING and your military service will carry a lot of weight, especially if it has involved international service. I got into school with a much lower GPA.