Please give me some feedback

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Duran

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm really aiming to apply to med schools next summer. Here's my background:

I graduated from Dartmouth in 2012 with a B.S in economics. My cum. GPA was 3.7. I did not take one single science course in college.

Immediately after graduation, I worked on a start-up project (co-founder) trying to develop a new medical technology which unfortunately failed. After that experience, I joined another start-up (as an early employee) that was successful and subsequently acquired by a Fortune 500 company. I stayed on at the F500 company and am working there now.

Anyways, last year I first had the idea of going to med school. My motivation is that I think I'd really enjoy the experience overall and am very interested in translational medical technology and its interface with patients. I also became disillusioned with other grad school paths (business school, law school etc.)

I initially was going to take my pre-reqs at a local state university, but honestly I just could not justify the costs of doing so. Therefore, I've been taking the pre-med classes in the evening (as I'm still working full-time) at a local community college. I expect to complete all the pre-med reqs by next summer. I've been getting all A's and I expect my science GPA to be around 3.8 (it's dragged down from a B- I got in college in multivariable calculus).

Anyways, do you guys think I'd be competitive in getting into an MD school? I know alot hinges on my MCAT. I"ve been taking a couple practice tests and got a 32. So let's assume I get a 33 on the MCAT.

Just wanted some feedback thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Yes, MCAT is important, but you really need to show your change in heart through LOTS of clinical volunteering, shadowing, etc. What have you done thus far?