Please give me your Insight

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dentist88

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys so Im an avid reader but never have posted anything and I am at a point where I really need some advice, here is my background:

UG GPA = 2.5
Currently in thesis based masters after 1 year GPA = 3.54

DAT's not taken but practice test indicate:
TS = 20 (Bio = 20, Gchem = 22, Ochem = 19)
PAT = 24
QR = 25
RC = 20
AA = 21

I am doing a thesis based masters program in which I am required to do 20-30 hours of lab work a week. Also I am still taking 4 classes (my masters for full-time only requires 2). Also im shadowing a dentist 6 hours a week and TA'ing 2 lab sections which takes up about 8 hours a week of time. I have a really really pressing and busy schedule and I would have liked to do a higher GPA than 3.53 especially after a year of masters, I still have 1 more year to go when I can push that to maybe a 3.6-3.65 or so. Also I will get published at the end of my program if that adds to anything. I know my GPA at this point should be like a 3.9+ to show adcoms but I really am having a hard time pushing it that high because of how much I am doing.

Any insight on whether Im on the right track and if not what I can do would be appreciated. Please dont badger my previous academic records, I know its bad and I have had life impacting situations leading to that UG gpa being so low, but I am trying to get outta that slump and do better.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys so Im an avid reader but never have posted anything and I am at a point where I really need some advice, here is my background:

UG GPA = 2.5
Currently in thesis based masters after 1 year GPA = 3.54

DAT's not taken but practice test indicate:
TS = 20 (Bio = 20, Gchem = 22, Ochem = 19)
PAT = 24
QR = 25
RC = 20
AA = 21