PM&R Intern year in Fam Med or Peds?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thedood

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Sorry if someone has already asked this and I just missed it. The AAPM&R website says you can do your intern year in programs other than IM (Surg, Fam med, Peds). I'm a third year med student specifically interested in doing my intern year in Peds because I'm considering a Peds fellowship after PM&R residency (assuming all goes according to plan lol). Can anyone comment on a non-IM intern year prior to advanced PM&R Residencies? The good & bad? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Everyone,

Sorry if someone has already asked this and I just missed it. The AAPM&R website says you can do your intern year in programs other than IM (Surg, Fam med, Peds). I'm a third year med student specifically interested in doing my intern year in Peds because I'm considering a Peds fellowship after PM&R residency (assuming all goes according to plan lol). Can anyone comment on a non-IM intern year prior to advanced PM&R Residencies? The good & bad? Thanks!
The purpose of your PGY-1 year is to prepare you for your PGY-2 year. I’m not sure that happens with a Peds internship, especially entering the more medicine heavy PM&R programs. You might do two months of Peds your entire three years of PM&R. I’m pretty sure you have plenty enough time to learn Peds during a two year fellowship.

You have to follow ACGME guidelines for your preliminary year and get accepted to the position you want. Also confirm that your categorical program will accept it.