Podiatry vs Pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Podiatry or Pharmacy

• Podiatry

• Pharmacy

Results are only viewable after voting.

Spiderman-ish

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am currently in a gap year between undergrad and graduate school. I applied to both pharmacy and podiatry programs. I was accepted into a 3 year pharmD program today, and I am considering taking it, but I also have 2 podiatry school interviews upcoming. I feel that I may get in to at least one of the podiatry programs, because I received very quick word on interview (The day after I applied).

Which program is more worth it? To preface, I was a biochem major in undergrad, graduated with a 3.4 cumulative, and a 3.2 science GPA, good extracurricular, have shadowed podiatrists and MD/DO, worked in labs.

I am mostly curious what you would pick if in the same situation.

Members don't see this ad.

You could prolly get into a DO school with those stats.

You will most likely get a Pod acceptance.

Do you wanna be a doctor or a pharmacist? Pharm also has a huge saturation problem right now. Podiatry has its own issues, but Ive never seen an unemployed Pod (who graduated from a residency). If this were me, Id pick Podiatry hands down.

Members don't see this ad :)
You could prolly get into a DO school with those stats.

You will most likely get a Pod acceptance.

Do you wanna be a doctor or a pharmacist? Pharm also has a huge saturation problem right now. Podiatry has its own issues, but Ive never seen an unemployed Pod (who graduated from a residency). If this were me, Id pick Podiatry hands down.
Would you mind delving into the saturation problem? I haven't heard much about it, at least from my friends in pharmacy. And what issues would you say are associated with podiatry?

Excuse my ignorance, I haven't truly heard much about these, the biggest problem I've heard recently revolved around the merging of MD/DO files