Poor Start-- some feedback?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EMTI

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-trad, so this may not be the right thread, but I am wondering whether or not the path I'm on will lead to med school success.

Here is my story;

I'm a 25 year old graduate of the local state university-- a recognized, middle of the road liberal arts college with a good reputation-- with a degree in, of all things, English Teaching. I finished out my 4 years with a 3.28, and was accepted into the graduate program for my MEd. However, medicine has ALWAYS been the love of my life. I'd been an EMT for a year before I graduated, and immediately after college graduation, I was hired full time with a professional ambulance service, and opted out of graduate school.

After a short amount of time, I decided that I wanted to continue to push myself, and I wouldn't be happy until I was a physician. So, I applied, and was accepted, to Northeastern University's Post-Bac Pre-Med program.

To sum it all up--

I've been working my behind off since I've been at Northeastern. I have a perfect 4.0 currently, and have been taking accelerated pre-reqs, having finished all my general bios, and some math, and beginning my chem.

Obviously, I have not taken my MCATs yet, since I don't have all of the pre-reqs done.

My EC's include (by the time I apply)--

5 years as an EMT-Intermediate with a lot of clinical experience
2 years of volunteering as a patient advocate at the local hospital
2 years working in the cardiology department at the local hospital
Physician shadowing in the ED
Clinical time spent with patients doing IVs, EKGs, etc, in a hospital setting

So, here are my questions;

1. How far back can I go on my AAMC apps, in regards to ECs? Can I put ECs from the first time around, when I was in college originally? Say... 5 or 6 years prior?