XOT

5+ Year Member
Oct 11, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello all,

I am considering doing a final post-bac. semester of upper-level sciences. I have a complicated academic history--Briefly, in my first UG school (4 total years of classes) I received many C's, and D's and some F's in science courses. At my second UG school, where I graduated, I took mostly science courses (retaking all prereq. I took at my 1st UG) and received A's and B's.

My dilemma now is how I should spend this final post-bac semester. I looked at it from many angles and contemplated all my options--

First option:

Take 16 credits of upper level sciences (C/M Bio, Cancer, Pharm, Neurosci, and medical virology) in one semester at my current UG. If I am able to receive all A's, it would most likely be a positive sign of my medical school capabilities.

Second option:

Take 10 credits of upper level science courses at my current UG, and meanwhile enroll in a 4 credit embryology class I received an F in at my first UG school. The pros of this option is that it will raise my AACOMA GPA.

From an ADCOM perspective (whether for SMP, DO, or whatever) what would look the best: 16 credits of an extremely tough semester on one transcript (raising my cGPA at this school alone to 3.4) OR 10 credits at one institute and another 4 credits at another institute? I am just trying to look at this situation from an ADCOM viewpoint to make a decision. ANY SUGGESTIONS :)

Also, do you think it is possible to do the 16 cred. semester mentioned above?

Thanks,
Mark

DrMidlife

has an opinion
10+ Year Member
Oct 30, 2006
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I vote option #2. School-specific GPA isn't going to matter - adcoms will never see a school's reporting of your GPA - they'll only see cumulative GPA, year-by-year GPA, and your course list. A semester of stellar performance won't get highlighted at all.

That said, do whatever gets you A's.

Best of luck to you.

Isoprop

Fascinating, tell me more
10+ Year Member