Post-bac, Master's, or SMP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RocuROMANium

Anti-woke progressive
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Same question, different scenario.

I graduated from the University of Georgia in December 2015 with a B.S. in Environmental Health. My cGPA is 2.7 and my sGPA is approximately 2.2.

I didn't realize I wanted to pursue a career in medicine until my last semester of undergrad after trying out business and environmental health. In addition, my GPA sucks because I went through a lot of family issues during undergrad. Unfortunately, the environmental health program at UGA is pre-medical so, as a result, it looks like I declared pre-medical and failed when in fact I was pre-medcial because of degree requirements.

Here is my thinking. If my degree wasn't already pre-medical I would probably just do post-bac, but then again my GPA is so low and I have so many credit hours that even if a earned a 4.0 post-bac GPA it still wouldn't affect my undergrad GPA enough to make me competitive for medical school. After reading all of the forums it seems that a SMP or Master's would benefit me greater. However, I need research experience so it seems that a MS in Biology would probably be the best fit for me since it offers difficult science courses plus research experience.

I have ZERO doubts about becoming a doctor. However, I do know that I have no room left for error so I will do everything I can to achieve this goal in my life.

What do you all think?

Members don't see this ad.

your current GPA will most likely not allow you acceptance into an SMP. your sGPA especially is cause for alarm in all programs, and without doing some serious grade repair, your chances for medical school are not looking good.

research will not be beneficial enough in your case to offset the worrisome academics, so you absolutely need to address your GPA first.