Post-bacc Admissions Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drj611

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in my final year of my undergrad, pursuing and BS in Finance with a 3.8 GPA (there's a catch, which I will discuss later).

After taking a couple basic bio and chem courses (human bio, not bio I), I started to get really passionate about medicine. I began reading whatever medical literature I could get my hands on, volunteering 20 hrs/week as an EMT (in the process of certification), and seeking shadowing and hospital volunteering opportunities as well. Throughout these experiences, I decided that I want to become a physician.

Since I have not taken my required sciences, I am planning on applying to post-bacc programs soon. With a 3.8 GPA, I shouldn't have a problem with admission into these programs, however my overall GPA is not a 3.8. I transferred from a small school, which I attended for 2 years and earned a meager 2.0 GPA.

I have taken more credits with a 3.8 than with my 2.0 (about a 3:2 ratio), so according to my calculations, my overall GPA is approximately 3.02.

So far, I've been looking at Columbia, Tufts, BU, Drexel, Harvard Ext., and UConn. Please rank these in order of quality of programs and selectivity.

Also, if anyone could shed some light onto my situation so that I may better decide where to apply, I'd appreciate it. Thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

With a 3.8 GPA, I shouldn't have a problem with admission into these programs, however my overall GPA is not a 3.8. I transferred from a small school, which I attended for 2 years and earned a meager 2.0 GPA.
Let's face it. Your GPA is not a 3.8, it's about 3.0. So I wouldn't say that you have no problem with admissions. As far as the programs you mentioned, I'll defer to others who have had more experience with that.