Post Bacc Application Questions (Pre-program online prep/Old Volunteer Experience/Master's GPA)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dpe4545

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on SDN. I've used it quite a bit over the past few months in order to research about applying to a post-bacc program. I am hoping to begin applying to different programs this cycle for career changers. I've done the research and the soul-searching necessary and I think a formal, structured post-bacc is the right step for me. I have two questions about applying to post bacs that I was hoping someone might be able to give me some feedback for:

1. I graduated from my undergrad program with a 3.93 without taking any of the prerequisites for medical school, which means that I haven't taken any science courses since high school (I am 26 now). Some of the post bacc programs I am applying to ask for a copy of my high school transcript (I'm honestly not sure how much weight that holds, though) and from what I remember I didn't do terrible. I graduated with a 3.4 gpa and I made pretty much all As and Bs throughout high school. During that time period, I didn't really care to try that hard in school; it was really in my undergrad program that I began to enjoy schooling and make more of an effort. To get to the point, I am currently working through some Coursera/EdEx courses in math/chemistry/physics/biology in order to get me ready for next year when I begin working on my prerequisites. My question is whether I should pay for the "verified certificate" option that many of the courses offer. I know they aren't worth any official credit, but I feel it at least quantifies my self-study preparation. Would post bacc programs look favorably on this? I'm not really sure what to think because of the stigma of online anything, but since they're not for credit, I wasn't sure if it might help.