Post Bacc Opportunities and Strategies for Someone in my Position

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IBAtlanta

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
haha I thought you might have when I posted it. For some reason the wording/motivation of Grassini's admissions letter in the times article, the 'inciting incident', always stuck with me.

My situation is a little different than yours. I have a degree in neuroscience from a liberal arts school (one of those little-ivy types) with a deadbeat GPA (c2.8 s2.4). Horrible. I didn't even bother applying to med school. I did a lot of post bac research for both record enhancers and career changers (which I dont qualify for) and eventually decided the safest career move for me was to transfer my credits towards a chemical engineering degree, retake my classes as part of the degree, get involved in research and apply to med school after proving myself for a year in my chem e program. Med school is still my top priority, but I will have the fall back of working as an engineer if I don't manage to make it in. A year into my program, and I am getting my research work published and maintaining a 4.0 and working as an emt/shadowing - so things may yet work out for me.