MyNameIsAlex

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 27, 2005
Status
Medical Student
Hey guys

I am a canadian student debating whether or not i should do a post-bacc in the US and then apply to a US school (many US schools accept Canadians as "out of state" students)... or go to one of the top 3 caribbean schools..

if i do post-bac, im probably wasting an extra year... but may increase my chances of getting into a US school... + 50k tuition

if i go to caribs i save $ and time, but then... its a carib school, so there is alot of headache to deal with after...

any thoughts/advices would be very appriciated...

Law2Doc

5K+ Member
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Dec 20, 2004
Status
Attending Physician
MyNameIsAlex said:
Hey guys

I am a canadian student debating whether or not i should do a post-bacc in the US and then apply to a US school (many US schools accept Canadians as "out of state" students)... or go to one of the top 3 caribbean schools..

if i do post-bac, im probably wasting an extra year... but may increase my chances of getting into a US school... + 50k tuition

if i go to caribs i save $ and time, but then... its a carib school, so there is alot of headache to deal with after...

Where do you want to ultimately practice? If the US, then you ought to do the post bac. Hurdles coming from th carribean are significant, and lots of doors will be harder to open. You do not "waste" a year by doing a postbac-- you are going to be a year older no matter what you do. A medical career is often 40 years long, so one, or even 5 years diversion to give yourself a softer landing is really not significant.

NVM3

D.D.S. In progress
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jun 1, 2006
Omaha
Status
Dental Student