Post Bacc or SMP? Please Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kellyalexandra

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello.
This is my first time on the site, and I am new to the whole idea of post bacc or SMPs. I am in my final year with a health science degree at a UC. I work 20-30 hours a week in order to pay for living and school. I went to a different UC my first two years and was a dance/film studies double major, I didnt do that well in my classes since I was not planning on needing a good GPA since I was planning on auditioning for a ballet company post-graduation. However I changed my mind, transfered schools and have gotten A's in o chem, gen bio and most of my upper div biology classes. My current GPA is a 3.4 however that doesnt factor in the GPA from my old UC which wasnt good. I will not be able to raise my GPA enough to get into many , if any, med schools. I am wondering what I should do. Would post-bacc or SMP be the route to go? If post-bacc would suffice in order to raise my GPA does it need to be a formal program or can I jsut apply to another undergrad school and take upper div bio courses etc to raise my GPA?
Thank you so much for your time , I really appreciate any help or advice

Members don't see this ad.

Hello.