Post graduation help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pawbri

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm graduating college this spring (undergraduate with bachelor's in biology).
My plan was to apply to vet school either this summer or the following summer. I don't have a lot of experience as of now, which is why I want to make sure I accumulate quality vet hours this summer. For a frame of reference, I will graduate with a 3.6-3.7 GPA (depending on how my spring courses pan out), I have 150 hours of vet experience, 250 hours of wildlife experience, and about 850 hours of pet experience (pet sitting company and pet hotel). I have no research experience. What do you think is the best plan of action for me? I was thinking of working as a vet assistant full time and volunteering at the zoo on weekends...Is this a good plan? Any additional advice is appreciated. Thank you
Bri

Members don't see this ad.

Highly recommend posting your stats in the "what are my chances thread?" at the top...you'll prob get the most help there!

Your GPA is good (assuming your science and last 45 are about the same). Have you taken the GRE yet? I would definitely focus as much of your time as possible on getting more veterinary experience, especially if you plan to apply this cycle. Animal experience is good. Veterinary experience is better. Plus, you need at least one veterinarian to write you an LOR!

Highly recommend posting your stats in the "what are my chances thread?" at the top...you'll prob get the most help there!

Your GPA is good (assuming your science and last 45 are about the same). Have you taken the GRE yet? I would definitely focus as much of your time as possible on getting more veterinary experience, especially if you plan to apply this cycle. Animal experience is good. Veterinary experience is better. Plus, you need at least one veterinarian to write you an LOR!