Postbac/SMP Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yessirMD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre-medical student with a BS in Biology with an overal GPA of around 3.3 or so overall GPA with a science GPA at 3.25. I have over 1000 hours of volunteer hours at the VA hospital as a stop smoking counselor, and volunteered at several health fairs. I work as an inpatient pharmacy technician at a top hospital here in the west and have been for the past 2.5 years. I was wondering if a postbac (undergrad GPA enhancer) or SMP is right for me. And which SMPs place many of their grads at their respective medical schools? I've read about UCinncinati, EVMS, Tulane and Drexel. Are there any others?

Here are my Prereq grades with a few other courses that may be relevant:

Gchem1 B
Gchem2 B
Ochem1 B
Ochem2 B
Bio1 A
Bio2 A
Physic1 A
Physic2 B
Calc1 B
Eng1 B
MoBio A
Physci B
Micro B+
Calc2 B
Eng2 A
Biostat A
Biochem A-

I will be taking the April 5, 2012 MCAT. Will my MCAT be a better factor of whether I should pursue a Postbac or SMP? Hopefully I can hear from DrMidlife as well as others who have gone through the non-traditional route.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'd take the MCAT and see how you do. If you score 33+ I think you can apply w/o doing a SMP. I'd definitely not do a postbac, you'd be taking all the same classes you have and you didn't do badly in any of them.