Postbacc or SMP?pls help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IanMcStruthers

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a nontrad student, non-URM CAapplicant, graduated already with a cgpa=3.4, sci gpa = 3.0(upward trend, 3.65 in senior year with mostly sci classes). My first mcat score was 23S, second mcat score was 25T (verbal holding me back :\). ECs are decent, with volunteering, research and a publication.
I wasn't successful this cycle for MD. Should I:
1) retake the mcat and apply next cycle?
2) apply for any postbacc, then reapply- If so does it matter where I do postbacc?
3) Apply for SMP with linkage?
4)Caribbean? (Don't believe in DO philosophy)

Please help. Thanks a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm a nontrad student, CA applicant, graduated already with a cgpa=3.4, sci gpa = 3.0. My first mcat score was 23S, second mcat score was 25T (verbal holding me back :\). ECs are decent, with volunteering, research and a publication.
2) apply for any postbacc, then reapply- If so does it matter where I do postbacc?

Don't take it, unless you've been studying very hard and extremely confident you can do way better than average. Not only does MCAT need vast improvement so does your GPA.

I don't think any formal post-bacc will take you considering you've taken all the classes already. So you would looking at an informal post-bacc, but would take a lot of time and money to move your GPA.

Your best bet is to look into SMP.

There's nothing wrong with a DO program.

I'm a nontrad student, CA applicant, graduated already with a cgpa=3.4, sci gpa = 3.0. My first mcat score was 23S, second mcat score was 25T (verbal holding me back :\). ECs are decent, with volunteering, research and a publication.

What specifically do you disagree with in the DO philosophy? Have you shadowed a DO?

Members don't see this ad :)
I wasn't successful this cycle for MD.