Practice Interviews For URMs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ruedjgtc

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm a second year medical student. I do mock interviews for a company at Admissions Ace (http://www.admissionsace.com/#homepage). I started doing this side gig because I thought it was rather affordable for most premeds, especially those who can't afford to literally have a life coach put together their application. Anyways, there's been a mixed success. I've had people do mock interviews, but it's been people who can afford to do multiple interviews — i.e. defeating the warm and fuzzy feelings I had when I started at the thought of helping poorer students. The site still is a good cause, that's why they set the prices low. But, I'm still not satisfied with who I'm reaching (it's not an issue of race, it's an issue of who can afford to take the risk of forking over more cash).

So, if you have an interview coming up this cycle please let me know, and I'll do a session pro-bono. I'd rather have this not be a sales pitch of you coming back for more, because there's only so much time I can give up and I'm not looking to line my pockets from people who can't afford it.

Rules:
- Be an URM - race doesn't matter, you just have to an URM (even if this is purely because of finances, but your race is ORM).
- Like my normal work, I read your PS, AMCAS, secondary entries, and then I use them to interview you on Skype. The mock interview is about 45 minutes, with about 15 minutes of feedback — so the limit of how much I can grill you will be on how much you provide, usually I'd write a write-up, but your feedback will be all verbal.