Pre-Interview Dinner

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adrenalitis

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey peeps. I'm a PGY1 FM resident working on improving my program's interview process. Currently we do not have a pre-interview night social/dinner for applicants. I am working on convincing the program that we need this. They only listen to raw data though so help me out by answering some questions for me to tally.

1. Did you interview at any FM program that did NOT have a pre-interview dinner/social?

2. If you attended, did the pre-interview dinner/social effect your eventual rank order?

3. If a program did NOT offer a pre-interview get together, would that NEGATIVELY change your view of the program.

Thanks. I need at least 10 replies. Please put whether you are already a FM resident or a current applicant.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey peeps. I'm a PGY1 FM resident working on improving my program's interview process. Currently we do not have a pre-interview night social/dinner for applicants. I am working on convincing the program that we need this. They only listen to raw data though so help me out by answering some questions for me to tally.

1. Did you interview at any FM program that did NOT have a pre-interview dinner/social?

2. If you attended, did the pre-interview dinner/social effect your eventual rank order?

3. If a program did NOT offer a pre-interview get together, would that NEGATIVELY change your view of the program.

Thanks. I need at least 10 replies. Please put whether you are already a FM resident or a current applicant.

Sounds like you're at UTSW FM in Dallas --
I'm an attending but still remember enough of the interview trail that I can respond if it matters --

1. Yes

2. Yes

3. Questionable -- it would affect my impression i.e. Are they too cheap/snooty to give me a chance to chat with the residents and see how they interact?