angelil_yu

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Feb 28, 2004
WPB, FL
Status (Visible)
Hello y'all,

Do you think it is possible for me to go to pharmacy college without a bachelor degree? Say, I just complete the requirements for pre-pharmacy (hopefully will be done in 2 years), then take PCAT test and apply for graduate professional school?

Right now I'm studying at Cal State San Bernardino and still studying inorganic chem. I am planning to appy directly to other school once I'm done with the pre-pharm coursework.
Any suggestion.

Thanx
:horns:

ApothRM

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Dec 11, 2003
Miami
Status (Visible)
  1. Pharmacist
AS far as I know..Most pharm schools do not require a bachelors. HOwever, I have been told from alternates on ad coms, that a student with a bachelors degree are sometimes held in high regard. Anyways, depending on where you apply, you should be able to get away with just finishing the pre-regs for pharm school.

Also kknow that pre-reqs vary from school to school.

MNnaloxone

DY-NO-MITE!
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Check your school for details. Right now, most schools will accept apps from students who have completeld all pre-reqs (which can be done in 2 years). However, the U of MN is switching very soon to a BS prereq as well.

I'm not saying that it can't be done, but I feel that a lot of apps are from those with at least 3 years in. Having to retake a "C", having to finish off those last few prereqs, living the college experience, etc all contribute to this.

No harm in trying after 2 years. At the least, you'll get the experience of going through the app process, and make contacts in the colleges you wish to attend. At the best, you'll get in, and have one less year of college on your tab.

About the Ads
K

kim.