Pre-PT Student needing to Interview Physical Therapist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

T8024

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

My name is Travis Ceccacci. I am a Pre-Physical Therapy student at the University of Houston-Clear Lake. I am writing an essay for my advanced writing class call "Know Your Discipline". I have to conduct three interviews with physical therapists. I've already interviewed one PT, and it was very rewarding. Every clinic I've called will not allow me to denied me the opportunity to volunteer and interview a PT. Please help me with this assignment by answering the questions below. This was supposed to be a personal interview. I realize this may be asking alot, but if you could provide your name, credentials, and email it would help me avoid a zero for this assignment. Please help this prospective physical therapist!! I have the utmost respect forthe field and all of those in it. Thank you so much!!!! It could also be a phone or skype interview. Please send me a personal message or skype me at trav2992. Thanks again.

1. Is the physical therapist with DPT degree benefiting the patient more than a physical therapist with Master’s degree?
2. Does it cost more to be treated by a physical therapist with a DPT?
3. Why do you feel there is such a push by the APTA for every physical therapist to be a Doctor of Physical Therapy?
4. With the demand for physical therapy increasing as the population ages, how do you feel the demand for physical therapy will be affected by PT’s being in school for a longer period?
5. Does a DPT degree make a physical therapist more qualified to treat a patient? Why or why not?
6. Some claim the DPT degree is an attempt to buy legitimacy and acceptance of others. What do you think about this claim?