Pregnancy in Vet School or Residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bonsall

Colorado State University
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a slightly older vet student about the finish second year and my husband and I are interested in starting a family. That being said, I also really want to do a internship and internal med residency.

Is it possible to have a kid during a residency program? From what I've read, it seems like it would be nearly impossible to do so during an internship year, so I'm debating whether I should have a kid at the end of 4th year or wait and try to have one during a residency. I know I wouldn't get any maternity leave, but with FMLA I could take a little time off unpaid (though I'm not sure if this would set me back in my residency at all).

Does anyone have any experience with this? I know it would be extremely taxing, but is it feasible?

Members don't see this ad.

Can't speak to doing it during residency, but I had baby #1 between second and third year, and am pregnant with #2 and about to graduate. We had a classmate who had her baby during our clinical year, and two others who are currently pregnant during clinics, so 4th year pregnancy and babies are definitely possible!

I honestly think its hard no matter when you try it. So really, its just a matter of how comfortable you are setting yourself back at any given stage of school/training if you get overwhelmed or have to take extended medical leave.

i have no experience here whatsoever, but you might want to think about where your child will be at developmentally during residency if you got pregnant now. thats probably preschool age? there are a lot of fun and wonderful things that happen during those years that you will likely miss out on as a resident (plays and park dates and classroom volunteer, etc) :)

Members don't see this ad :)