Premed Advising Needed!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FindingVeritas

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all! I'm a long time reader, first time poster on this network and I was wondering if you guys could provide me with some pre-med advising as I'm THINK I'm about to make a few crucial decisions.

Background: I'm currently a sophomore at public state university in Virginia. Stat wise I will have a 3.70-3.80 GPA by the time of application with a strong upward trend after I bombed my first semester of freshman year with a 3.35 (I have done very well so far in my orgo classes and I have always viewed this as the largest hurdle I would have to overcome during premed). I am either going to major in Biochemistry or Chemistry but my decision will be based on whether or not I want to take Physical Chemistry before I graduate. I plan to take Biochemistry next year as well as finishing up my physics and English requirements for premed.

My MCAT score would be pure speculation at this point but I still have questions regarding when to take it. I have read several times in the forum that the ‘prime time' to take the MCAT would be the end of my third year. At this point, I am jittery about taking the MCAT while concurrently taking classes and working (addressed later on in this post). Ideally I would prefer to take the MCAT directly following my third year summer but I have heard from multiple sources that this almost ensures that I will have to take a gap year/graduate before applying due to the medical school application cycle (which I would prefer not to do).

The MCAT obstacle actually has to deal with my belief that at the current time my extracurriculars will seem extremely weak in comparison to other applicants (I have just recently gotten into a ‘comfort zone' as far as grades go). I have: