premed student jobs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

marand13

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been looking for a good job that i could do while in school. What kinds of jobs are readily available to premeds?

Members don't see this ad.

I must add the caveat that I was not "pre-med" until after I graduated, I was an RA in college which was a good experience and great pay, I wasn't interested in medicine or knew anyone who was, so this is all from what I learned after graduation.

1) EMT-B. You can get EMT-B certification from classes offered by community colleges, hospitals or some other schools. In most communities medical transport companies or private ambulance firms hire green EMT-B's for part time work which can fit pretty well with your studies. EMT class shouldn't be too much of a challenge if your a good pre-med student. The pros: looks good on, provides good patient contact, can keep you motivated. The cons: poor pay (many EMT-Bs work with volunteer fire departments, so be glad your paid at all), the work can get pretty boring (you dont use your brain too much). I'm an EMT-B currently, hoping to get a job at a Chicago hospital. Really, you can do it.

2) Tutor. A great option, requires little training, uses skills you already know and will show that you are a good teacher and communicator, which med schools look for (according to these forums). If you aced the MCAT or SAT (got in the top 90%) teaching for the Princeton Review or Kaplan is a great option because again, its part time and works with your schedule. Plus, it's probably some of the best pay you can expect.