Prestige of Business School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Osteoth

Fake it till ya' make it
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

So I am currently an accepted medical student, set to start my M1 year next summer, and I am trying to figure out my future path toward my MD/MBA degree.

The school that I am expecting to matriculate at has a joint MD/MBA program, but it is not a highly ranked business school that is affiliated with this program. In addition, the school does not require the GMAT, which is nice.

In the same city, however, there is a much higher ranked program (Top 10), which does (obviously) require the GMAT if I were to apply. Right now I am trying to figure out if I should bother to study for the GMAT and apply to this program, and if I would even stand a chance, because I do not want to waste my time studying for the test if I do not have to, especially during my gap year.

In addition, my other concern is that the prestige of the business school I attend will be largely inconsequential because I do plan on practicing, and as a result my business roles would be more administrative and secondary to my clinical responsibilities.

Members don't see this ad.

The ranking of b-schools is largely of consequence only if you intend to work as an I-banker on Wall St. or something similar. If you are primarily concerned with the knowledge and not the connections, you'll learn the same stuff at any AACSB accredited school.

It also seems like it would interfere with your med school matriculation if you were to enroll in the outside MBA program. If you plan to do more medicine than business, I would do the joint MD/MBA program.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi,

So I am currently an accepted medical student, set to start my M1 year next summer, and I am trying to figure out my future path toward my MD/MBA degree.